Spring 2013 Palms and studio updates

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Palms record is finished and I couldn’t be happier with both the experience of creating this album and how it turned out.

In early March, I met up with Deftones on the East Coast leg of their tour so that Chino and I could wrap up some vocals for the record. We turned hotel rooms and backstage areas into temporary recording studios, which you can see a bit of in the photo gallery above. It was also fun to travel with the Deftones guys and crew for a few days; thanks to them for making me feel welcome and for being such great people.

We’ve now officially handed the record off to the label. No more tweaking things. No more adding or subtracting. It’s nerve-wracking, but it’s also an enormous relief. Now I get to listen to it like a “regular person” instead of scrutinizing every part. The other day I listened to the whole record during a run and it was indescribably satisfying. I hope you guys enjoy the record as much as we enjoyed creating it. It comes out June, 25, 2013 on Ipecac Recordings.

With Palms complete, I’m currently mixing a record for the Serbian band Consecration. They recorded it live in their studio, the way records used to be made. I like their sound — the songs are long with psychedelic dynamics and heavily effected vocals. You can check out a few of their previous records on Bandcamp.

I also have some openings for recording, mixing, and producing projects in the coming months, so please get in touch if you’d like to work together. You can check out my audio reel for some examples of records that I’ve mixed and my FAQ page for any questions about how I work. Or you can contact me directly at aaron@aaronharris-audio [dot] com and I’d be happy to discuss any inquiries you might have.

And for fellow audio nerds: There are a few McDSP audio plugins that I’ve really been enjoying. I’d specifically recommend checking Channel G, Futz Box, Compressor Bank and Filter Bank. Another company I like is Kush Audio. Check out their Clariphonic DSP and UBK-1.

IN CASE YOU MISSED IT …

Winter studio updates

Some kind words from Sleep Lady

Zozobra’s ‘Bird of Prey’ now on Bandcamp

Posted on April 1, 2013, in Drums, Mixed, News, Produced, Recorded, Recorded / Mixed / Produced. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. That’s awesome Aaron. I hope all goes well through the label. I still enjoy the music that is Isis and I look forward to hearing this project. I wasn’t aware you had a website, so I’ll definitely keep coming back to check out for more info.

  2. Awesome man! Can’t wait to hear it! BTW, what is that under your macbook in the pic?

  3. Great news, I loved your work on the last Zozobra record.

  4. Can’t wait for the record to drop, I’ve already got a reminder on my calendar for 25 June. Please also make the music available on Spotify if you can (I guess maybe that’s up to Ipecac?)

    Between the artwork I’ve seen and the subtraction of Turner’s growling (heresy, I know), I cannot wait to hear the result. (Don’t get me wrong, I’ve practically worn out all my Isis albums from play, but the vocals were always my least favorite part.)

    BTW, by artwork, I’m referring to things like these:


    Music and photos — good ones anyway — invoke an instant reaction in me.

    Will Palms be playing in Los Angeles any time soon?

  1. Pingback: PALMS (featuring Chino from DEFTONES & Members of ISIS) Finish Debut Record | Latest News | Metal Injection

  2. Pingback: El disco de Palms ya está terminado - portALTERNATIVO

  3. Pingback: Palms Complete Work On New Album - Heavy Blog Is Heavy

  4. Pingback: Palms tour dates and new song streaming | Aaron Harris Audio

  5. Pingback: Palms Album Trailer, Puscifer Remix, Studio Update | Aaron Harris Audio

Leave a comment